300 years ago the world was shrouded in darkness. A dangerous chemical was released and mortals became immortals. This chemical not only stopped humans from aging, but allowed them to use more of their brain…unlocking the many secrets of untapped potential and abilities. As the world’s population became the walking dead, it moved from taboo and non-humans out casted to acceptable and wide spread.

Soon mortals were voluntarily taking the chemical, changing themselves for what they believed was for a better future.

Then there came the change, when politicians began forcing those that still had their mortality to drink and become what they did not want to be. Laws were formed 60 years ago, one they called the Mortal Benefit Act …there was no more choice.

Mortals were outcasts now, they were raped and fed upon by these new age vampires. The laws were formed soon after they had invented a type of synthetic blood. It was a combination of elements that sustained vampires and allowed them to stop drinking human blood. It was made for humane purposes, but there are still those that liked the taste of real blood and could not come back from its lingering metallic, sweet taste. Mortals were not only an endangered species but they were milked like cattle’s for their blood in secret blood farms far from government eyes. She was born to mortal parents who escaped the grasp of the politicians and eluded the radar of blood thirsty vampires.

The immortals lived in their own cluster of cities, the humans in deserted wastelands the politicians called the Dead Valley…ironic isn’t it? The only weakness of these vampires was the sun; their skin was dead and only nourished by the stolen blood they drank. It did not protect them from the UV light, and so when they were in the sun for too long, their skin began to break down, it turned black, burnt and shriveled. The same thing happened when they didn’t drink blood, except the process was much slower. In their little sheltered city the poor vampires lived underground, while the rich and wealthy were able to afford protection that allowed them to fortify their homes and cars –just because they were immortal did not mean the caste system was abolished– allowing them to live above ground, in the sun. Though among the rich, it was still practiced to slumber in the day and wake in the night.

She and her kind were only in danger when the moon shined down. That’s when the rogues who didn’t want synthetic blood came up on the surface and hunted for mortals. Not only did they have to run from them, but they ran from the government and the military that was looking for mortals to turn. They believed that turning everyone was the answer, was the thing to do to stop the rogues.

During the nights they stayed on the move,… never stopping. During the daytime when the sunshine warmed their human flesh, they hungered for it, they hungered for some sort of normality.

Today was no different. She watched the younger children run around, enjoying what sunshine hours was left. She watched her parents, still in love among all the madness and chaos. Twenty three years she has been on this earth, this altered form of earth and she would have given up a long time ago, if it wasn’t for that thing that kept her parents alive…their love. She hoped for one day of finding her freedom in some else. She wouldn’t mind running away so much from the darkness if she had someone running with her into the light.

25 responses

  1. W000000t! Dusty’s back!! I can tell this story is going to be both exciting and eerie at the same time. As always your pictures are gorgeous. The title pic caught my attention right away. I can’t wait to learn more about those characters : D. And who is this mysterious girl you mentioned?? I love the back story. I can tell you put a lot of thought into it. You must have been developing it for a while!! The site looks good too. I didn’t have any trouble commenting, once I put in my email it automatically found my screen name! (Rika701) But anyway, I’ll be looking forward to the next chapter. When can we expect it? lol

    December 1, 2011 at 11:46 pm

  2. Wow, this sounds really interesting! I usually just read legacies but this caught my eye and now I want to know more. I’ll be watching this story for sure 🙂

    December 2, 2011 at 3:49 am

  3. Rika: Thanks for the feedback Rika! I wanted to make sure everything was on the up and up before going public with it. :}
    Im going to try to give everyone a little of everything this time around instead of full on romance like Love the Hard Way. The next chapter is coming up very soon. ;}

    Jojoa: Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

    December 2, 2011 at 4:09 am

  4. Welcome back Dusty! When I saw this in my subscriptions, I had to think a bit about who in the world you were! (I do remember now 😉 ). This prolouge is so intriuging. This back story is amazing, your hard work has definitely paid off 🙂

    December 2, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    • LOLZ! Im glad that you subscribed before, I like having my old readers back, doesnt make me quite that nervous. :} Thank you for reading! <33

      December 2, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  5. Subscribing…

    December 3, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  6. Hooray for a very promising new story. Looks like an intriguing plot line. I already subscribe to your posts and get email updates. I will be lurking. -EQ

    December 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm

  7. buttonsginger

    Terrific! On to chapter one. I wonder if She will have a name? So intriguing.

    December 3, 2011 at 7:58 pm

  8. The best thing to wake up to are such awesome comments! Thank you all for subscribing and commenting! ❤ ❤

    December 4, 2011 at 1:41 am

  9. Wow, this is such a great beginning! I love the sci fi twist, and how the vampires weren’t just…. for no reason. It was from a chemical. Something similar happened in my story (but only a secondary, small part of it), well stories since she appears in all of them and causes chaos… she is a vampire, but it’s from a genetic operation going wrong, she went in the past, blah, blah. Anyway, can’t wait to see how this goes :).

    December 9, 2011 at 2:48 am

    • Thanks! like reading stories where they tell you where the vampires originated, whether its always been like that since the beginning of time, they were in hiding for centuries, a chemical that changes the way the body functioned, etc. Its adds a little more depth. :}

      Thank you for the comment and your story sounds great! That’s a unique way to turn into a vampire..very interesting. ~.^

      December 10, 2011 at 1:03 am

  10. YAY! I loved your first story and I love vampires! Cant wait! I have started my own story now, and I would love you to check it out!
    Miller Diaries!

    http://millerdiaries.wordpress.com

    December 9, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    • Hey there! Thanks for reading Love the Hard Way and now reading this! I love my old readers and hope this gets out to them all! ^^

      I will definitely check your new story out!

      December 10, 2011 at 1:04 am

  11. So yeah,

    I followed you from The Forsaken blog and I couldn’t help but marvel at your take on Vampires cos it’s so similar to what I’ve written in
    Krisis:http://krysis.blogspot.com/

    and Seven: http://valpre-seven.blogspot.com/

    I’m off to read the chapters and I’m glad I caught this in it’s early stages, there’s nothing worth than trying to catch up and missing out on all the discussions of later chapters.

    Again, I’m in awe of what you’ve come up with. Very intriguing.

    December 12, 2011 at 6:58 am

    • Thank you so much for reading Valpre! Its truly an honor! I actually came across your story just today from the writers thread TS3 site. And I really fell in love with all the characters you created and the interwoven storylines you have created for The Forsaken. When I realized that you wrote two more stories I was ecstatic to read them! Since I am all caught up with the Forsaken, Im going to definitely dig into Krysis and Seven. (Especially since I saw that Seven is loosely based off of Snow White..my favorite fairytale..I will be reading it.) ;}

      December 12, 2011 at 7:41 am

  12. Wow this is absolutely an original idea! I’ve read other vampire stories and made one myself but this one is much different than those! I love how you’re doing the chemical reaction mortals v vampires and the superior race! This sounds VERY good and I can’t wait to jump into it!

    December 12, 2011 at 1:44 pm

  13. I’m looking forward to another fantastic story, dusty!

    December 12, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  14. Welcome back Dusty! Really happy you told me about this story of yours. It’s so original and unique from the rest of the things I read. I have a feeling, this will just keep getting better and better!

    December 19, 2011 at 1:03 am

  15. Great start!! Your pics are gorgeous, and the premise is very intruiging. Off to read Ch. 1.

    December 19, 2011 at 1:42 am

  16. daijahv: Thank you! Im glad it stands out and seems a bit different! ^^

    Thanks Zoxell! Great to hear from you! :}

    Auburn: Your very welcome! and Thank you! I hope it does too. :}

    Tommiegirl: Thank you!

    December 19, 2011 at 8:20 am

  17. aussiekarima

    ~ Well I’m on the band wagon,& love your fresh ideas on an old concept,so I am glad I was able to get into this now before the story was to far ahead!LOL!
    ~ Off to read more!(“,)

    January 21, 2012 at 4:07 am

    • :} Welcome aboard! ^^ Always happy to have new readers. I cant wait to hear what you think as you continue to read. <33

      Much appreciation as well for taking the time to do so and comment!

      xoxo

      January 21, 2012 at 5:13 am

  18. swimlilfishey

    Oh-My-God!!!! That was Freak’n amazing! I’m totally hooked now . . . .Must read on!! I utterly love how you’ve created this, its unbelievable!! :0

    July 4, 2012 at 5:29 am

    • Thank you Thank you!! I am so glad that you enjoyed it and have decided to keep on reading! I hope that you continue to enjoy it as well. :}
      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment!
      xo

      July 5, 2012 at 5:37 am

  19. Dusty! It’s me Cin from the Smiths Legacy! I’m finally back into the simming world and I’m so happy to see this story. Your writing skill only gets better and better doesn’t it? 😉

    August 14, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Thank you for any Feedback, its always appreciated!

