River opened the double wooden doors, taking one step in before bowing in front of the elegant older woman who sat a great distance into the room.

“Hello River darling.” Her cool and calm voice reverberated in the empty room.

“Madam O.” He said curtly, making his path into the room further to stand in front of her desk.

“Well..there are some things you need to tell me….like where is our Rose?”

“At Synthesis.”

Madame O angrily grunted out frustration, composed herself again before she said calmly, “Why is she over there River? Did I not send you out there to intercept?”

River was the only other person to ever see the woman who ruled the Sectors lose her cool.

“Yes Madame O. Pardonnez mon échec, Forgive my failure. It was Kemar that tricked the Brynn’s. He was under the guise that he worked for us to gain their trust.”

“I can’t believe that we did not catch on. How could this go so wrong so quickly River?”

“It was all a set up. Black’s people intercepted our messages to the Brynn’s and theirs to us. It seems that either we have a traitor among us or they used a powerful vampire to corrupt our carrier.”

Madame O shook her head, “No..no…if anyone came into the Sectors using that kind of power and messing with our people, even if they were just walking around…trust me darling..I would have felt them.” She was one of the oldest vampires around, and the list of vampires that could match her power was not that long. So River had to trust she knew what she was talking about.

“So a traitor it is then.” He replied. Madame O looked at River. She stood up and crossed the room to where the handsome twenty eight year old stood. He was caught perfectly in the prime of his youth and beginning of his adult years.

She could remember the first time she laid eyes on him in Paris. He had been forcefully turned against his will to serve for all eternity at the feet of Belladonna, the immortal ruler of that land. He was an accessory, something that made the woman look good…using only his body never his potential. Madame O was her guest in Paris and she had violated several rules when she liberated River Kile from Belladonna, a transgression the once friend now enemy, would never forget.

He has been part of her undead group the Midnight Bloods for 23 years already. How time flew to make him her most trusted vampire to inflict judgment and justice for her throughout the Sectors.

He stood there silently letting her watch him, study him like she liked too. It always reminded him of Belladonna, and the way she liked to watch him. Like he was something to be admired. The only difference between the two was that Belladonna watched him like a depraved sexual being and Madame O watched him like she was trying to read behind his glass like expression.

“Yes…Find the one who dared to betray me and bring him here. And you know who to contact to bring Rose to us. Its time his 54 years of undercover work did something more.”

River nodded and bowed shortly, turning on his heels and leaving.

“Oh…and River?”

He half turned.

“Ill be seeing you later this morning before dawn breaks.”

He nodded and left.

She may be well over 200 years old, but her libido was still quite intact. Belladonna might have only used him for his body and never his wit or potential, but she used him for both.

“I understand.” John clicked the phone off. Looking around the lab he noticed he was alone. His long strides took him across the room quickly to where they kept live specimen. Grabbing several tiny blood tubes and a syringe he made his way over to the rats. With gloved hands he picked one up and inserted the needle into the tiny squirming creature. He pulled back and received blood. He carefully drew out only the amount that the creature could give and not die, which was not much.

He placed the lethargic rat back into the cage and emptied the blood into a test tube, it didn’t even fill it halfway. For the next several minutes John carefully collected a rat, extracted a certain amount of its blood and added it to the tubes. He was deep in concentration that he did not realize when Friedrich had come into the room.

“What are you doing?” the other scientist asked.

John quickly composed himself from being startled as he replied, “Just collecting some of their blood for future use. We really are going to need some for all the blood testing we need to do tomorrow.”

Friedrich nodded, “Alrighty John, I just wanted to let you know that Ill be going home now. I haven’t slept in a long time, or received supplements yet. I don’t know how Im standing upright with all the commotion going on around here.” He chuckled nervously.

Friedrich was a good man on the wrong side of the fence. And because he abided the law and only saw black and white, he was a deadly enemy to those that dealt in the grayish areas; despite his shaky demeanor.

John nodded not looking back, “Alright my man. Ill see you tomorrow then. After I’m done here I’m going to refrigerate this and head home myself. I hate when Rick orders us to sleep here instead of going home, I haven’t seen my girl in a while you know.” He said tossing back a half smile at Friedrich.

Friedrich shook his head a little too fast. “Sure you don’t need any help?”

“Nah..I got it..don’t worry yourself. You look pretty beat anyways.” John said, still not turning around. For if he did, Friedrich would notice the amount of blood taken and become suspicious why he wasn’t using the larger animals in the basement for that amount. Little did he know that John was in a hurry.

The other man nodded and left the room. John threw the needle away in the biohazard container and made sure all the test tubes were wiped and locked tightly. He slipped them into his pocket as he walked to his desk. His eyes darted around, making sure he was truly alone again. Quickly he pulled out labels and pasted them to the tube with Rose’s initials ‘RCB’, Rose Cassidy Brynn. He secured them in an insulated plastic white box and moved to the fridge to make the exchange. He had to swipe his security card several times, rapidly entering codes that were needed to get into the all glass enclosed room.

With the mouse blood in place he disposed of Rose’s specimens down the sink, keeping but one vial of blood carefully wrapped and placed into his pocket.

Now came the hard part, breaking out Rose.  A few minutes later of quietly creeping up the stairs from the lab on the 25th floor to Rose on the 31st, John found himself lingering in the hallway that led to the room Rose was being held in.

He stayed hidden, using his abilities to seamlessly blend into the background and shadows…that’s actually what a Shadower did. Except that they were really good at it.

John didn’t need to breathe, so he was literally still as a statue. He stood there like that for maybe two or three hours.

Rick would never leave Rose alone…even if she was in a fortified room. John was smart enough to know that he would place a Shadower at the door, especially since the militant guards that were there before were now gone, a trap for anyone looking to make contact with the girl. It was then that the black man faltered. He seemed to be getting agitated to be staying still and so the illusion broke in several places allowing John to see how correct he was.

Shit…Rick stationed Kemar as the Shadower?

John cursed himself. How was he going to break her out of there if that trigger happy mongrel was shadowing her?

A moment of watching the other man by the door and John next thought was, did he suck as a Shadower though; a better one there and John wouldn’t ever have known there was one. Didn’t matter if he waited all day or all week, a professional never would falter. Kemar didn’t have the patience it took to be a Shadower.

That’s what Rick gets for being cheap.

John began quickly formulating plans in his head. He backtracked his way from the hallway and down the stairs to the lab downstairs, as quietly as the only the dead can. Kemar was a brute no doubt about it, but he was still a vampire. Around the same age as John as the matter of fact maybe a year or two older, so John knew what he was capable of doing.

This time he took the elevator, he had his clipboard in his hand pretending to look at it, shuffling a paper here and there. He soon reached the floor where Kemar was and without looking up he said,

“Kemar? You there?” He looked up, pretending to be looking hard for a Shadower. No need to tell him what a shitty job he was doing. There was no answer and he sighed,

“Kemar, I know you’re here shadowing her. Black sent me here, told me to tell you he wants to speak to you. Something or another about security detail.”

Kemar made a face as he uncloaked himself from his powers.

“What the fuck man. He tells me to do this, and then commands me to go there. Like I haven’t done enough yesterday…I haven’t even fucking fed yet!” He grumbled to himself as he stomped angrily away.

John nodded and looked sympathetic. He could still hear the grumbling as Kemar took the elevator to level 55, the highest floor of the building, where Blacks penthouse like office was. Once he couldn’t, he made a dash for the locked room. He had a key plus the swipe card and effortlessly opened the door.

Rose -who was pacing the floor in the room- looked at him rather surprised.

“Time to go!” John said.

14 responses

  1. I loved everything about this, the screenshots, the writing, everything.

    Mhh, Madame O looks as cold as ice and so scary too. I wonder what her French counterpart looks like if she looks so scary. Don’t get me wrong, she’s pretty, beautiful even, but in the ice queen kind of way. I feel bad for River, being used first by the French ruler and now Madame O. I wonder if he minds being used though?

    I loved your lab set. It looks so realistic. And the concept of “Shadowing” is brilliant. I don’t know how you dream up all these ideas. The whole time John was trying to get to Rose I was on the edge of my seat, afraid someone will catch him out. Now that he’s gotten to her, I hope they make it out of there before Kemar and Mr. Black realize they’ve been tricked.

    Awesomeness!

    P.S. Don’t keep us hanging too long between updates!

    January 11, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    • Thank you Val!! Im glad you enjoyed!

      Madame O is indeed scary and ice queen defines her perfectly! As for Belladonna if she was friends with Madame O before, you can only imagine her own personality and then having her favorite boy toy snatched from her lair..she is going to be revealed but not anytime soon. ;}
      River is actually one of my favorite characters because of his vulnerability..he is a majorly conflicted being. We will be seeing more of him in the coming chapters.

      I had a lot of fun making the lab set! That is actually the reason I too a while to get this chapter out. I was looking for lab CC but did not find much, I had to improvise. Plus I was making a bunch of other sets for the next couple chapters. :O I have to admit that I am pretty excited about the next couple chapters…they are intense! ;}

      January 12, 2012 at 12:12 am

  2. buttonsginger

    Another great update. Shadowing…marvelous! I was actually on the edge of my seat…..I think Friedrich is gonna be a problem! I can’t wait to see how John gets Rose out of there.

    January 11, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    • Hey Buttons! Thanks for reading!! ^^
      Im aiming for you all to fall outta your seats in the next couple chapters. XD So this is a good start to hear! ;}

      You raise a very good question about Friedrich..because of his black and white law abiding nature, he might just be a problem. He is a scientist that really believes in his cause, but will it be enough to keep him on Blacks side or will he realize that life has gray patches too?

      January 12, 2012 at 12:17 am

  3. w00000t! This was so good! The writing was perfect-I was on the edge of my seat and just as nervous as John was! With the way you write, you don’t even need pictures. The detail is just that good : ). Also, Madame O is creepy lol. But I loved the way you designed her room. I kind of like Friedrich too. It would be nice if he crossed over to the “good” side. I could go on forever, but most importantly I hope Rose and John make it out alright! Excellent chapter!!

    January 12, 2012 at 3:29 am

    • Thanks Rika!!

      I like Friedrich too. :} Im so happy that you like this chapter! And as I said before, I aim to have you all falling or jumping outta your seats for chapter seven…its probably my favorite now. XD

      Madame O is very creepy, cold. She is a hard character to decipher because your not sure what side she is playing…unlike Rick Black who is just pure evil and harsh and you can tell by his tone what he is feeling. But Madame O she is very good at disguising herself.

      January 14, 2012 at 9:43 am

  4. The little tin man at the top made me giggle again 😀

    I’m still coming up with reasons they all want her blood lol I guess that’s just my suspicious mind. Kemar got tricked like he tricked Rose, Karma bitch! I hope when he gets to Rick’s office he has a big fat slap in the face waiting for his ass! PLEASE make it hurt Rick!

    YAY! Go Madam O for thinking ahead (though I still have no idea what she wants with Rose, I’m just hoping it’s better than being locked in a cell awaiting her fate). I don’t know how John’s going to do it but I hope he works things out quickly! With all the security cameras everywhere it’ll be a real scramble to get her out safely and without anyone noticing and pursuing them!

    I love the pictures and though Madam O seems cold, she also seems to be a great leader and they aren’t always as heartless as they seem at first glance! The fact that she made an enemy of a trusted friend just to procure River for herself speaks volumes about her character and the type of person she is. (Though I can’t blame her one bit for using his…assets, I would too!)

    If I told you I was holding my breath until the next chapter would that make you release it quicker? 😀

    January 14, 2012 at 4:39 am

    • I love tin man! He’s protecting your reading! XP

      LOLZ! Karma indeed! Who knows what Rick will do to him! But it aint going to be good!

      Madame O…I like your thoughts on her. She has great leadership power to secure all of the Sectors under her rule. But she also has ulterior motives too. She not only saved River from Belladonna for the sake of saving him from her friends hands but for her own advantage. She has an eye to think paces ahead. I think thats her best and most dangerous feature.

      :} So far, Chapter seven is all written out! The images are all planned out as well. Im just finishing up the couple of sets for it before I take the pictures. I promise it will be released soon!

      Thank you once again for all your comments! They made my Friday night even better! <33

      xoxo

      January 14, 2012 at 9:49 am

  5. Sorry I have been gone for a minute! This chapter was awesome! So good. I loved the suspense in the begining with Madame O and River! He is cute too! I love the doctors, I didnt realize one of them was a vampire! That was a shock to me. Much harder to break people out when you vampire doctor friend wont leave! -haha- I cant wait to see if they escape, def edge of my seat stuff! You rock 🙂
    Michelle

    January 14, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • Im glad you enjoyed Michelle! ^^
      Lolz, they are both vampires, the scientists. :} Everyone in Metropolis A, B and the Sectors are vampires. Any humans are blood slaves. :[

      January 25, 2012 at 8:47 pm

  6. Great chapter! 🙂 I hope he get’s her out of there (which hopefully will be the better fate). 😛 Can’t wait to see if they get out of there…

    January 15, 2012 at 7:50 pm

  7. Just catching up here, and wow, love it! River is an intriguing character. Keep up the awesome work! Everytime I read a chapter of yours, I feel so inspired to make my own, lol. But, I’ll stick to machinima. 😛

    February 2, 2012 at 12:48 am

    • Saquina: I hope so too! And who knows if it is a better fate… . .

      Sy: Im glad that you are liking it! Im the same way towards machinima’s. I LOVE watching them and I get so inspired to make one myself, but Ill stick to writing. XDD

      February 11, 2012 at 12:39 am

  8. Yay! She’s going to be saved. But I think what might happen will be that John will be attacked by Ekmar who came back down after noticing nothing happened. Hopefully we will find out who this man really is.

    August 18, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Thank you for any Feedback, its always appreciated!

